[BLML] Incompletely designated ruff

Nistler@BridgeHands.com nistler at bridgehands.com
Wed Oct 19 19:46:28 CEST 2016


Seems many directors would rule based upon the principal of an incontrovertible line of play based on the players ability – and YES, this is always a slippery slope...

Sent from my iPhone

> On Oct 19, 2016, at 5:58 AM, David Grabiner <grabiner at alumni.princeton.edu> wrote:
> 
> Spades are trumps.  Dummy has J4 of spades.  Declarer leads a heart from 
> hand, which LHO ruffs with the S5.  Declarer says, "ruff". Does he play 
> the SJ or the S4?
> 
> The argument for overruffing is that "ruff" is equivalent to "win" (as 
> if he had led the S2 from hand).  The argument for underruffing is that 
> he didn't notice the play; if he had led towards an AQ in dummy and 
> said, "queen", the queen would be played even if LHO had played the king.
> 
> 
> _______________________________________________
> Blml mailing list
> Blml at rtflb.org
> http://lists.rtflb.org/mailman/listinfo/blml



More information about the Blml mailing list