[BLML] Could have known

Herman De Wael hermandw at skynet.be
Fri May 20 11:42:01 CEST 2016

Vigfús Pálsson schreef:
> Are we really suggesting to use of law 73F here?


> If it is,  then something is missing in this story.

maybe you did not read the same into it as I did. My question is why it 
would not be ruled such in OZ.

Let's see (I'm now going on to the original, see further)

> Well In Iceland,  the ruling is "Next board please"
> Greetings
> Vigfus Palsson
> ----- Upprunaleg skilaboð -----
> Frá: "Tony Musgrove" <ardelm at optusnet.com.au>
> Til: "BLML" <blml at rtflb.org>
> Sent: Föstudagur, 20. Maí, 2016 06:34:39
> Efni: [BLML] Could have known
>>From the latest ABF Newsletter:
>                                      8 6
>                                      A10 8 7 6 2
>                                      K10 2
>                                      A Q
>      9 3                                                          J 4 2
>      K J 9                                                       5 3
>      8 4 3                                                      A 9 6
>     K J 6 3 2                                                10 9 8 5 4
>                                     A K Q 10 7 5
>                                    Q 4
>                                    Q J 7 5
>                                    7
> Playing 6S by South, West gets off to sneaky
> HJ lead.  Rising HA, South will discard heart
> loser on successful club finesse.  However
> upon drawing trumps, East discards heart on
> third spade, but immediately corrects to
> spade.  Now South feels inclined to play low
> heart to Q since East's heart is a penalty card.
> Bad luck, 1 down.
> So, in OZ, no problem, laughed away, but I
> presume that in other countries, the "could
> have known" law would be wheeled out
> rather quickly.  With what result?
> Cheers,

Let's try to construct a "could have known" story:

East knows, from the lead, that South has the queen of hearts.
Let's suppose he knows from the bidding that South has real diamonds. So 
there can be no other winner for his side than the Ace of clubs. If 
South still needs it, the queen of clubs is also a trick. So if South 
has the king of hearts as well, there is no more play. So East can 
assume west has the king, and has led a sneaky jack.
So south may assume East has the king of hearts, and taking a penalty 
card in hearts may lead south to play towards his queen, if there is 
still a choice between two lines (south does not know the club finesse 
is on).
So from East's perspective, taking a penalty card is a move which might 
lead south to a different, losing line.

East could certainly have known that taking a penalty card might be to 
his advantage.

I would certainly rule against, and I don't see why this should be 
different in OZ.

> Tony (Sydney)


More information about the Blml mailing list