[BLML] quick check

Matthias Berghaus Ziffbridge at t-online.de
Wed Mar 2 22:06:03 CET 2016


Am 02.03.2016 um 20:46 schrieb r pewick:
> N plays the S7, then S plays SK, then E plays the SQ, then W plays the S3.
>
> Is that a trick?  Upon what basis is it so?

Sure it is. A flawed one, while under way, but when all is told a trick. 
At the end nobody would know...

>
> regards
> roger pewick
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Gordon Rainsford
> Sent: Wednesday, March 2, 2016 12:18 PM
> To: Bridge Laws Mailing List
> Subject: Re: [BLML] quick check
>
> I suspect I shouldn't be drawn into this but...
>
> On 02/03/2016 17:07, r pewick wrote:
>> Trick  — the unit by which the outcome of the contract is determined,
>> composed unless flawed of four cards, one contributed by each player in
>> rotation, beginning with the lead.
>>
>> To put a better point on it:
>>
>> When a trick is flawed it is still a trick.
> Yes, it's a flawed trick.
>> And as there is no definition of defective trick, therefore there is no
>> trick that is a defective trick.
>>
> The first dictionary I looked at gave "flawed" as the second meaning for
> "defective". We don't find ourselves incapable of using words just
> because they aren't defined in the Law Book.
>
>
> _______________________________________________
> Blml mailing list
> Blml at rtflb.org
> http://lists.rtflb.org/mailman/listinfo/blml



More information about the Blml mailing list