[BLML] Both players forget & numbering

Robert Frick rfrick at rfrick.info
Sat Aug 30 15:29:23 CEST 2014

On Fri, 29 Aug 2014 23:58:48 -0400, Richard Hills <hildalirsch at gmail.com>  

> Fortunately, the Lawbook is nuanced. In addition to Law 40C1 >(which  
> describes *frequent* deviations - caused either by >forgetfulness or by  
> intent - as creating an implicit partnership >understanding), there is  
> also Law 75C (which describes >*infrequent* deviations - caused either  
> by forgetfulness or by >intent - as not requiring any disclosure). Law  
> 75C emphasises >that it is the partnership understanding, *not* a  
> partner's >cards, which much be disclosed.

If I correctly remember your position on this, Richard, if both players  
forget they are playing a convention, their "understanding" at that moment  
is that they are not playing the convention.

> This brings up one of my hobby-horses; the numbering of the Laws. >Law  
> 40 is located nowhere near Law 75 in the Lawbook, making it >easier for  
> a novice Director to rule incorrectly. Another classic >example of poor  
> numbering is Law 23. It is surrounded by Laws >which deal exclusively  
> with irregularities in the auction, yet >Law 23 is applicable both to  
> the auction and also to the play.
>> Christopher Smart (1722-1771), final stanza of his poem Jubilate >Agno  
>> celebrating his cat:
>> For God has blessed him in the variety of his movements.
>> For, tho he cannot fly, he is an excellent clamberer.
>> For his motions upon the face of the earth are more than any >other  
>> quadruped.
>> For he can tread to all the measures upon the music.
>> For he can swim for life.
>> For he can creep.

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.rtflb.org/pipermail/blml/attachments/20140830/cf5789de/attachment.html 

More information about the Blml mailing list