[BLML] Both players forget

Richard Hills hildalirsch at gmail.com
Fri Aug 29 03:56:30 CEST 2014


Sven Pran quoting Ian Fleming's "Goldfinger":

>He said, "Mr Bond, they have a saying in Chicago:
>Once is happenstance, twice is coincidence. The
>third time it's enemy action."

Richard Hills:

And indeed the Goldfinger principle is imbedded
in Law 40C1.

For example a partnership may explicitly have a
pre-existing mutual understanding that after an opponent opens the bidding
with 1S, a 3C jump overcall shows a weak hand with 5/5 in the red suits.
But 50% of the time an alternating partner forgets, jumping to 3C with
a weak hand and seven clubs.

Law 40C1 mandates that the partnership's intial
explicit understanding has now been replaced by a new multi-meaning
understanding; the 3C jump overcall is now EITHER seven clubs OR 5/5 in the
red suits. This may or may not be an illegal convention (depending upon
local regulations).

BUT...

Even if the multi-meaning convention is legal
under local rules (for example, such a multi-
meaning overcall is permitted by ABF rules), full
disclosure is required. Disclosing merely the
original 5/5 red suits understanding is a
misinformation infraction.

"Give a person a fish and you feed them for a day. Teach a person to
use the internet and they won't bother you for weeks, months, maybe
years."
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.rtflb.org/pipermail/blml/attachments/20140829/5df34af9/attachment.html 


More information about the Blml mailing list