[BLML] Law 79B

Peter Eidt petereidt at t-online.de
Tue Aug 12 18:44:59 CEST 2014


what about Law 79 A2?
"A player must not knowingly accept either the score for a trick that his
side did not win or [...]"


von Petrus Schuster OSB
> Am 06.08.2014, 02:16 Uhr, schrieb Mike Amos
> <mikeamostd at btinternet.com>:
> 
> > B. Disagreement on Tricks Won
> >
> > If a subsequent disagreement arises, the Director must be called, then:
> >
> > 1. The Director determines whether there has been a claim or
> > concession and, if so, applies Law 69.
> >
> > 2. If 1 does not apply the Director rules what score is to be recorded.
> > If
> > the Director is not called before the round ends he rules in
> > accordance with C below or Law 87, as applicable, but there shall be
> > no obligation to increase a side's score.
> >
> > I've been doing some preparatory work for a Club Director Training
> > Course and one item referred to in the course notes is Law 79B.
> >
> > I'm completely mystified by the reference to Law 87, which appears to
> > me to be a mistake of some kind. (I do have a theory, but would be
> > interested to hear other opinions before offering it)
> 
> I have recently come upon another problem with the new wording:
> 
> A player came to me at the start of the dinner break in a teams event and
> gave me the following facts:
> 
> - The hand was played through.
> - Both sides agreed to a contract of 3NT+1.
> - The result of the match was duly signed and handed in.
> - When they discussed the hands afterwards, they remembered they had
> actually taken the first FOUR tricks.
> - Opponents do not deny this, but insist the signed result must stand.
> 
> Now:
> 
> - There is no claim or concession so B1 does not apply.
> - The round has ended, because the session has ended.
> - Looking at "C below": there is no error in computing or tabulating the
> agreed score, so C1 does not apply.
> - And the board was not fouled.
> 
> Therefore: The TD has no legal basis for changing the result.
> Am I missing something?
> 
> Note that until 2007, 79B read "No increase in score need be granted
unless
> the Director is called before the round ends as specified in Law 8"
> which gave the TD the power to change the score (IIRC, "may" was changed
> to "need" in 1997).
> Was the change of Law in 2007 deliberate?
> 
> best wishes
> Petrus
> _______________________________________________
> Blml mailing list
> Blml at rtflb.org
> http://lists.rtflb.org/mailman/listinfo/blml



More information about the Blml mailing list