[BLML] interesting probst cheat [SEC=UNOFFICIAL]

Robert Frick rfrick at rfrick.info
Sat Nov 23 02:45:15 CET 2013


On Thu, 21 Nov 2013 18:38:41 -0500, Richard HILLS  
<richard.hills at immi.gov.au> wrote:

>> UNOFFICIAL
>Herman De Wael:
>
>>> Someone told me the following case yesterday:
>>>
>>> Declarer plays a diamond.
>>> Before LHO can play to the trick, declarer says “ruff”.
>>> LHO plays a low diamond.
>>> Dummy says “you have to follow suit”, which is true.
>>> LHO has a higher diamond than all the ones in dummy.
>>>
>>> Can LHO change his played card?
>>>
>>> Herman.
>Peter Eidt:
>
>> Yes, LHO may change his played card.
>>
>> Law 57 C2 tells us that the diamond ruff is a played card.
>> This played card constitutes a (not-yet-established) revoke, which
>> is not brought to the attention of anybody yet.
>> LHO plays after both hands of declarer have played to the trick.
>> Now the revoke is noticed and declarer has to change his play from  
>> dummy.
>> Finally Law 47 D kicks in telling that “After an opponent’s change of  
>> playa played card may be withdrawn and returned to the hand without  
>> furtherrectification and another card may be substituted.” LHO’s first  
>> diamond
>> being UI for declarer (only).
>Rueful Rabbit:
>What would Peter’s ruling be if the contract was 3NT???
>In that case I would be inclined to believe that declarer encouraging  
> LHO’s
> false inference as to the nature of the contract infracts Law 73F:
>“When a violation of the Proprieties described in this law

There is, unfortunately, no irregularity I can find for calling for a  
nonexistent card from dummy.



>> results in damage
> to an innocent opponent, if the Director determines that an innocent  
> player
> has drawn a false inference from a remark, manner, tempo, or the like,  
> of an
> opponent who has ++no demonstrable bridge reason for the action++, and
> who ++could have known++, at the time of the action, that the action  
> could
> work to his benefit, the Director shall award an adjusted score (see Law  
> 12C).”
>In my opinion a “Probst cheat” could earn many matchpoints baffling
> bewildered bunnies by trumping in No Trump.
>Kind regards,
>Richard
> UNOFFICIAL
>
>
> --------------------------------------------------------------------
> Important Notice: If you have received this email by mistake, please  
> advise
> the sender and delete the message and attachments immediately. This  
> email,
> including attachments, may contain confidential, sensitive, legally  
> privileged
> and/or copyright information. Any review, retransmission, dissemination
> or other use of this information by persons or entities other than the
> intended recipient is prohibited. DIBP respects your privacy and has
> obligations under the Privacy Act 1988. The official departmental privacy
> policy can be viewed on the department's website at www.immi.gov.au. See:
> http://www.immi.gov.au/functional/privacy.htm
>
>
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------



-- 
ExperiencesofWestAfrica.com
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.rtflb.org/pipermail/blml/attachments/20131123/161ab5e6/attachment-0001.html 


More information about the Blml mailing list