[BLML] Claim with partner on lead -- Swiss ruling rectification

RCraigH at aol.com RCraigH at aol.com
Tue Nov 12 17:45:21 CET 2013


Here is a two part director problem from a recent Florida regional
 
In a 2S doubled contract, the five card end position with declarer's RHO on 
 lead, LHO claimed the balance of tricks, holding AKQxx in trumps  Dummy 
had  Jxx of trumps and two diamonds.  Declare summoned the director and  
requested the lead of a heart, East known to have hearts.  The result would  be 
an uppercut, gaining a trick and fulfilling the contract for plus 470. 
 
The director ruled that declarer could bar one suit, not demand a  lead, so 
RHO could lead a diamond or a trump, either defeating the contract (LHO  
had no more diamonds).  Result, minus 100 and a seven IMP loss for  declarer's 
team on a 30 scale.
 
Before the next round started the director announced to the players that he 
 had made a mistake and allowed the contract to make on the play of a heart 
as  requested by declarer. The least effective defense rule applied against 
the  offending side.
 
Question one -- is the second ruling correct?
 
Question two -- the director ruled that because of "director error" he  was 
giving a split score, both teams benefitting from the situation.  that  is, 
the defense was permitted to set the contract and win the match by seven  
IMPs,while the declarer's team was awarded plus 470 and they also won the 
match  by seven IMPs!
 
In the final analysis the defending team finished behind declarer's in  the 
overall rankings, but the defenders did achieve a result higher than some  
other teams (Meckwell among them).  
 
What is appropriate?
 
Craig Hemphill
 
 
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.rtflb.org/pipermail/blml/attachments/20131112/556125a9/attachment.html 


More information about the Blml mailing list