[BLML] Can a complete designation become incomplete?

Ed Reppert blackshoe at mac.com
Fri Feb 8 17:16:31 CET 2013


On Feb 1, 2013, at 6:40 PM, Robert Frick <rfrick at rfrick.info> wrote:

> Declarer spoke first: "I said "3 of jack of hearts." "3 of referred to the  
> 3 of clubs in dummy.
> 
> The correct ruling, I am pretty sure, except in Belgium, is that she did  
> not finish designating her card, so she can change. But I am not fond of  
> making that ruling.
> 
> The opponents both said declarer said "3 of clubs". So I asked dummy, who  
> said her partner just said "three". The ruling here in ACBL-land is that  
> the call of "three" can't be changed.
> 
> So on a vote of 3 to 1, I made her play the 3 of clubs. Ah well, any time  
> there is a dispute of facts, it is not a happy ruling.

1. I have no idea how you get "3 to 1" out of that. Looks like 2 to 2 to me.
2. Did you comply with your obligation under Law 83 in making this ruling?
3. 'Not fond of it' is not a valid reasoning for not making a ruling.


More information about the Blml mailing list