[BLML] EBU Director exam 2009 question 8 [SEC=UNOFFICIAL]

Larry larry at charmschool.orangehome.co.uk
Thu Feb 7 10:50:52 CET 2013


Now then...who thought that RH would post a 
trivial problem?
The mentioning of 2H is serpently UI at this 
stage but does it constitute a call? That is the 
crux.

L


> Hi Sven,
>
> I disagree with you.
>
> The TD will not allow the change of call, 
> because the
> change was not yet made.
>
> See also Ton Kooijman's inofficial Commentary 
> to the
> 2007 Edition of the laws concerning Law 25:
> "It is no longer allowed to change an intended 
> call, old
> Law 25B has been removed. Only when a player 
> has
> substituted his intended call do the 
> provisions in B1 apply;
> the TD should not give a player the 
> opportunity to change
> an intended call."
>
> Peter
>
>
> Von: "Sven Pran" <svenpran at online.no>
>> I certainly hope nobody would disagree with 
>> me.
>>
>> My comment was related to the words in your 
>> post: The Director will
>> not allow the change and rules the 2H bid 
>> must stand.
>>
>> FRA: blml-bounces at rtflb.org 
>> [mailto:blml-bounces at rtflb.org] På VEGNE
>> AV Gordon Rainsford
>> SENDT: 7. februar 2013 09:16
>> TIL: Bridge Laws Mailing List
>> EMNE: Re: [BLML] EBU Director exam 2009 
>> question 8 [SEC=UNOFFICIAL]
>>
>> There was no director: it was a question with 
>> true/false choice of
>> answers provided. You've given your answer. 
>> What makes you think
>> anyone disagrees with it?
>>
>> Gordon Rainsford
>>
>> On 07/02/2013 08:11, Sven Pran wrote:
>>
>> Oh dear!
>>
>> Law 25B1:
>>
>> A substituted call not permitted by A _MAY BE 
>> ACCEPTED BY THE
>> OFFENDER'S LHO_.
>>
>> Send the Director back to school!
>>
>> FRA: blml-bounces at rtflb.org [1] 
>> [mailto:blml-bounces at rtflb.org [2]]
>> På VEGNE AV Richard HILLS
>> SENDT: 7. februar 2013 05:03
>> TIL: Laws Bridge
>> EMNE: [BLML] EBU Director exam 2009 question 
>> 8 [SEC=UNOFFICIAL]
>>
>> UNOFFICIAL
>>
>> http://www.ebu.co.uk/lawsandethics/td-training/default.htm 
>> [3]
>>
>> WEST......NORTH.....EAST......SOUTH
>>
>> 1NT.......Pass......2H
>>
>> A few seconds pass. Before South calls East 
>> calls the
>>
>> Director and asks to change his call to 2D 
>> because he
>>
>> forgot he was playing transfers. South is 
>> happy to
>>
>> allow the change.
>>
>> The Director will not allow the change and 
>> rules the
>>
>> 2H bid must stand.
>>
>> TRUE
>>
>> FALSE
>>
>> Law references:
>>
>> Best wishes,
>>
>> Richard Hills
>>
>> UNOFFICIAL
>
>
>
> _______________________________________________
> Blml mailing list
> Blml at rtflb.org
> http://lists.rtflb.org/mailman/listinfo/blml
> 



More information about the Blml mailing list