[BLML] First Time I Have Seen This One [SEC=UNOFFICIAL]

David Grabiner grabiner at alumni.princeton.edu
Tue Jul 10 01:22:16 CEST 2012


Richard.hills at immi.gov.au writes:

>Tony Musgrove:

>>I couldn't find this reg. in over 2 minutes of
>>looking, so thanks Ed. However, all of my
>>suburban clubs use written bidding and I have
>>frequently had players attempting to write out of
>>turn "1" at which time, usually their partner
>>might draw their attention to the fact that it is not
>>their turn to bid. I have always ruled that "1" is
>>not a bid, just UI, but that ruling seems at
>>variance with the Aussie bidding box rules. I do
>>not think anyone has bothered to write down an
>>equivalent regulation for written bidding.

>Another hard-to-find Aussie reg -->

>Australian Bridge Federation Regulations For
>Written Bidding And Bidding Boxes

>Section B - Written Bidding
>Clause 2.6:

>A call is ++not made until++ the player has
>written the appropriate numeral, if necessary,
>with the appropriate symbol.

Analogously, with spoken bidding, "Two.. oops, it's not my bid" is UI but not a 
bid; I believe this has come up on BLML.  (And that applies even if the last bid 
was 2S, so that "Two..oops" could only have been an intention to bid 2NT.




More information about the Blml mailing list