[BLML] When you agree to play a convention, what is your agreement?
agot at ulb.ac.be
Thu Sep 16 12:08:03 CEST 2010
Le 15/09/2010 18:00, Robert Frick a écrit :
> On Wed, 15 Sep 2010 09:56:40 -0400, Eric Landau<ehaa at starpower.net> wrote:
>> No one here would either. But around here, anyone who said "four-
>> suit transfers" would hear "which kind?"
> No one would ask that here. But they would ask which bid was the
> preacceptance over a transfer to a minor.
> Which is to say, you might not be able to walk into my club and know what
> people have agreed upon when they mutter the name of a convention. But I
> probably do. And I probably know when agreeing on the name of a convention
> is ambiguous.
> So it makes perfect sense that if all they have checked is 4-suit
> transfers, then '2NT explained as a transfer to diamonds when it wasn't'
> is ruled a correct explanation/misbid and '3C explained as preacceptance
> of diamonds when it isn't' is ruled a mistaken explanation. Hmm, a real
> life example would be this exact agreement and my partner not
> pre-accepting holding something like KQx of my minor suit.
AG : in my country, pre-acceptance needs more than just two honors in
partner's suit. You also need quick tricks.
More information about the Blml