[BLML] Rushing in (was Pear(-shape) of Davids Burn)

Robert Frick rfrick at rfrick.info
Tue Jan 19 23:07:08 CET 2010


On Tue, 19 Jan 2010 10:17:15 -0500, Sven Pran <svenpran at online.no> wrote:

> On Behalf Of Grattan
> ..............
>> The regulation could legitimately state that unless it is
>> imperative* to act immediately the Director should only intervene
>> if called, but being aware of an irregularity must then deal with it
>> later before expiry of the Correction Period.
>
> I believe this is the most important principle that every Director should
> always have in mind.
>
> If the Director becomes aware of an irregularity at a table (for other
> reasons than being summoned to the table) and the nature of the  
> irregularity
> is such that the corresponding rectification depends on possible further
> developments at the table (e.g. a revoke in progress), then a direct
> intervention by the director will most certainly jeopardize rights of  
> one or
> maybe even both sides.
>
> It is therefore imperative that the Director never intervenes (unless
> summoned to the table) until it is too late for the affected players to
> influence the consequences of their irregularity.
>
> This of course does not exclude the Director's right, or even duty to
> intervene immediately when he for instance notices that players are  
> seated
> incorrectly or attempts to play an incorrect board.


So, a player has a penalty card but is about to lead from hand. I am at  
the table as director. I should not intervene?

And if I revoke as playing director, am I obligated to point out the  
revoke after the offending side has made a call on the next deal?


More information about the Blml mailing list