[BLML] Canberra Claim [SEC=UNOFFICIAL]

Tony Musgrove ardelm at optusnet.com.au
Wed Aug 5 05:51:34 CEST 2009


At 12:12 PM 5/08/2009, you wrote:

>For the first time in a couple of years, I was invited to serve on
>a Canberra Bridge Club appeals committee.
>
>State Open Teams Qualifying, Match 6, Board 22, Dlr: East, Vul: EW
>
>                           QJ4
>                           986
>                           QT53
>                           KQJ
>K6532                                        7
>KQ74                                         A53
>K6                                           A42
>A6                                           T97532
>                           AT98
>                           JT2
>                           J987
>                           84
>
>West declared 4H in the Moysian fit; a good decision by East-West
>since the alternative 3NT contract is down one on best defence.
>
>Details of the play are unavailable, but this was the four-card
>ending (declarer having previously won 8 tricks and lost 1 trick)
>with the lead in declarer's hand:
>
>                           ---
>                           ---
>                           QT
>                           QJ
>65                                           ---
>7                                            ---
>---                                          4
>6                                            T97
>                           T
>                           ---
>                           J9
>                           8
>
>At this point declarer claimed, with the Law 68C statement,
>"Conceding a club".
>
>If this claim had occurred in a European Championship a decade
>ago, as Chief Director Antonio Riccardi how could (not would)
>you have ruled?
>
>If this claim had occurred in a European Championship a decade
>ago, as Appeals Committee member Grattan Endicott how could (not
>would) you have ruled?
>
>That is, is a split score of -620 NS / -100 EW ever conceivably
>legal under Law 70A's "as equitably as possible to both sides"???

I give in, Richard must have missed something here.  Declarer
is lucky to make his last trump, so is 1 off.  He is not going to
be allowed to lead a spade.

Cheers

Tony (Sydney) 



More information about the Blml mailing list